How I Spent My Good Friday

by withlovecarlacompleto

This is my first time spending Holy Week here in the Philippines like THIS and I’m excited for it. It’s not the same like in America but it’s something different.  My friend Fritzel and her sister Lyssa invited me to go to Guimaras with them to hike up this mountain for “the pagtaltal” (I’m sorry I don’t know what that is in English). Anyways before going to Guimaras I asked Fritzel what kind of clothes should I wear and what time we’re leaving. So I was really excited to do something new something different. I alarmed my clock at 3:40am (that’s really early) Well I woke up at 4am & took a quick shower (it was freaking cold) I got dressed. I wore leggings and my converse with my loose owl shirt and my purple Kipling bag. I went to Fritzel’s house at around 5am. Yes I was that excited that I even woke up early.  

We went to the fishing port in Ortiz and the line was INSANE! There were so many people! Imagine this (if you live in Iloilo you’ll know) the line was from the port all the way to Gaisano near University of Iloilo College.  It was really insane. Well we didn’t want to line up where the long line was so we took the pump boat to Jordan, Guimaras which made it faster.

Now we are inside the pump boat finally 🙂

Image

This is my friend Lyssa 🙂 She’s Fifi’s baby sister ❤ (we’re both first timers) Yay finally we are going 🙂 Super excited!!!

Image

We’re all set! Let’s go Captain 🙂

Image

Lyssa & Fifi ❤

Image

Inside the tricycle 🙂 (my eyes looks so weird haha)

Image

FINALLY!!! I am on top of the world 🙂 I made it to the top! Yay me! 🙂

Image

The church…can’t believe their church is on the very top…that means people in Guimaras has to climb through rocks and rough roads to go to church every time they attend mass.

Image

The Guimaras cross 🙂 It looks so small when you see it up close. Yay I made it to the top 🙂 It was such a great experience! 

Image

This is my haggard look. So filled with sweat and I’m probably stinky but who cares I made it to the cross & that’s all I care about. No need a filter or a camera 360 those take too much time…

Image

The very beautiful view of Guimaras 🙂 

Image

We made it back to the bottom & can’t you tell we’re both tired. Stopped for some fresh buko juice 🙂

 

After Guimaras I went to Tanza with Fifi and Lyssa to do this family tradition they do every year. 🙂

This is what I witnessed and experienced 🙂

Image

Isn’t she beautiful? This is Santa Marta. This is Hinojales Saint.

Image

Gotta have a picture with the miss beautiful Santa Marta 🙂 

Image

With the Hinojales Clan 🙂 

 

Even though I was really tired and really haggard and everything in between of tired and being sore. I can’t complain. It was a really nice experience from going on a hike to see the cross of Guimaras and walking the saints in Tanza. It was a beautiful experience. Something to remember and it was a priceless event. Hopefully next year again 🙂

Happy Good Friday Followers 🙂 ❤

